home > About Us > History
  • Greetings
  • WTA
  • History
  • Vision&Goals
  • Organization
  • Statutes&Working Regulations
    • Statutes
    • Working Regulations
  • Main Activities
    • General Assembly
    • Executive Board Meeting
    • Mayors' Forum
    • Mayors' Forum
    • Mayors' Forum
    • Mayors' Forum

Preparation Stage (1996~1998)

International Symposium, 1996, Daejeon Metropolitan City: Scholars, professors and city government representatives from 20 science cities in 9 countries participated.

DaejeonTechnopolis Summit, June 1997, Daejeon Metropolitan City: Mayors from 22 science cities in 10 countries adopted the World Technopolis Association Statutes and signed the Joint Statement.

1st General Assembly, September 1998, Daejeon Metropolitan City: World Technopolis was officially launched with the participation of Daejeon Metropolitan City, 23 founding members from 10 countries, IASP(International Association of Science Parks) and other related organizations, and they discussed international cooperation and exchange for STP development.

Proclamation of WTA Vision: Sustainable Technopolis Development

Development Stage (1999~2005)

WTA has a triangle approach of three key innovation leaders in technopolis: Local governments - Universities - Businesses.

- For Local Governments: General Assembly & Mayors Forum

- For Universities: University Presidents' Forum

- For Businesses: Hi-Tech Fair

Since 1998, the General Assembly of WTA has been held every two years and promoted mutual cooperation and exchange among member cities.

General Assembly Hosts: Nanjing (China, 2000), Monterrey in Nuevo Leon State (Mexico, 2002), Uppsala (Sweden,2004).

With the purpose to build a strong network between innovation leaders and hi-tech businesses in member cities, WTA has held an international exhibition Techno-Mart. Techno-Mart changed its name to Hi-Tech Fair, and has since expanded both in quality and quantity contributing to the host citys development.

Globalization Stage (2006~2015)

General Assembly Hosts: Brisbane (Australia, 2006), Daejeon (Republic of Korea, 2008), Hsinchu (Chinese Taipei, 2010), Gliwice (Poland, 2012).

WTAs 10th Annivesary Celebration (2008)

WTA and UNESCO have conducted cooperative projects since 2005 under a common goal of sustainable development via fostering innovation in science and technology.

- In 2005, the two signed an MOU to encourage mutual cooperation.

- In April 2008, WTA was approved as an international NGO within the UNESCO system at the 174th Session of UNESCO Executive Board.

- Major Activities in UNESCO-WTA Cooperative Projects: Capacity Building through domestic and overseas training workshops: Technical Assistance and Pilot Projects for the STPs development in developing countries such as Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Mongolia, Costa Rica and Pakistan.

In order to enhance multilateral communication and cooperation in the field of innovation, science and technology transfer, and STPs development, WTA has developed various cooperative projects with ISESCO, IASP, ASPA and INSME.

In 2012, WTA held the INSME Annual Meeting in Daejeon.

Publication of World Technopolis Review (WTR):

In 2012, towards a Leading Journal of Sustainable Science and Technology Park Development, WTA published WTR which is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal. WTR mainly deals with policy development and theoretical researches for sustainable STPs development.

Establishment of UNESCO Category II Centre (Goal for 2015):

With consultations of UNESCO, WTA plans to establish International Centre for Science and Technology Parks Governance in 2014 which will play a pivotal role in promoting mutual cooperation and building a strong network of technopolis aiming to achieve successful science and technology innovation.